Transitions

I was talking to my mom more about the idea of a subscription service for new home owners/ college students that would help them take care of simple problems when dealing with a new space, and I realized what was important about the experience was a phase of transition.

I’m beginning to think more about the kit as something that you receive as a way to help you through the beginning stages of adulthood. They’d be a little bit of support each month in figuring things out on your own for the first time. I see this being separated into three stages:

1) An option for parents to send to their kids between the last year of high school and first year of college. These kits would help them deal with living in a dorm, creating a work schedule, thinking about a budget, learning to deal with stress, and other problems that often come up your first year.

2) An option for recent college grads/current college students dealing with the transition from college to the real world. These kits would help you start thinking about signing leases, finding a job, quick fixes around the house, dealing with finances, moving to a new location for a job, and tips on how to deal with your first year on the job.

3) An option for a young couple/ family that is moving in to their first home together. These kits would deal with similar problems of owning your first home, how to deal with a mortgage and your new expenses as a couple, finding time to balance your work life with time for your family, organizing each space, dealing with plumbing/heat, and learning your neighborhood and adjusting to a more permanent living situation.

I want this product to be a way of self improvement through “home improvement”. The idea is that by completing certain tasks each month, guided by these kits, you feel a larger sense of control over your life and have some help maintaining balance through a time of transition.

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

On Empowerment (Part1)

When I was younger, I never thought much about how I loved the toys that I could build structures with. I didn’t think it was odd that I helped my dad around the house, helping him fix cracks and leaks at a young age. I did think it was... Continue →